Search Results for: The Woodlands

The Woodlands Series Boxed Set

The Woodlands Series Boxed Set

Author: Lauren Nicolle Taylor

Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing

ISBN: 9781634222723

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 184

Sixteen-year-old Rosa lives in one of the eight enclosed cities of The Woodlands, where the lone survivors of a devastating race war have settled in the Russian wilderness—the only habitable land left on the planet. The Superiors are ruthless in their control of the concrete cities, striving to create a 'raceless' society where everyone is the same. But Rosa has always been different—and that makes her a liability. She finds her counterpoint in Joseph and as the two grow closer, it becomes clear that if they want to be together, they will have to escape the tightly controlled Woodlands—and leave behind the only life they've ever known. A dystopian page-turner with over 1,000 five-star ratings on Goodreads, The Woodlands Series is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth, and The Jewel Series by Amy Ewing. Readers can purchase this boxed set at a significant discount over the cost to purchase each novel individually. This is a complete-series boxed set. The Woodlands is an Award-Winning Finalist in the "Fiction: Young Adult" category of the USA Best Book Awards, as well as a Semifinalist in The Kindle Book Awards by the Kindle Book Review. "Lauren Taylor's writing is powerfully descriptive; she is a master of words and similes." Author Erica Kiefer "It seems so rare these days to find a dystopian with an original vein in it. The Woodlands Succeeds." Author Pauline Creeden "I went into this story with my own ideas, but they were obliterated by what I found instead. I was so happy to be wrong because this story touched my heart deeply in a way that I never expected." Reviewer Amber Douglas Mcallister "This book was fantastic! Spectacular! It had everything I look for in a book: Action, Adventure, and even romance!" Reviewer Jocelyn Sanchez "Great storyline. Love the characters. I started with the first in the series then slammed through all 4. I couldn't put it down." Amazon Reviewer

The Forest Beyond the Woodlands: A Fairy Tale

The Forest Beyond the Woodlands: A Fairy Tale

Author: Mildred Kennedy

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN: EAN:8596547223771

Category: Fiction

Page: 74

View: 745

DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "The Forest Beyond the Woodlands: A Fairy Tale" by Mildred Kennedy. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.

Miombo Woodlands in a Changing Environment: Securing the Resilience and Sustainability of People and Woodlands

Miombo Woodlands in a Changing Environment: Securing the Resilience and Sustainability of People and Woodlands

Author: Natasha S. Ribeiro

Publisher: Springer Nature

ISBN: 9783030501044

Category: Science

Page: 245

View: 941

Based on work by the Miombo Network in southern Africa, this book helps decision-makers and general readers alike improve their understanding of the socio-ecology of the Miombo woodlands across southern Africa. It also highlights the importance of and the need for further research on the unique Miombo ecology and its link with economic development. One major challenge facing these woodlands is the influence that direct (both natural and anthropogenic) and indirect drivers of change, as well as interactions between these, have had over the centuries. As such the book explores the socio-economic and ecological interactions that occur in these woodlands and discusses the need for further research to provide a better understanding of these interactions. Drawing on data and information from numerous studies conducted in the last 20 years, the book presents a comparative analysis of policy changes and management experiences in the countries concerned. It also addresses issues of global climate change, since they have an impact on Miombo ecosystem management and restoration, and provides future projections based on an assessment of how climate change has affected the Miombo woodlands in the past.

Hydrologic Processes in the Pinyon-juniper Woodlands

Hydrologic Processes in the Pinyon-juniper Woodlands

Author: Peter F. Ffolliott

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105213683233

Category: Arid regions forestry

Page: 20

View: 990

Hydrologic processes in the pinyon-juniper woodlands of the western region of the United States are variable because of the inherent interactions among the occurring precipitation regimes, geomorphological settings, and edaphic conditions that characterize the ecosystem. A wide range of past and present land-use practices further complicates comprehensive evaluations of these hydrologic processes. Heterogeneous vegetative covers make it even more difficult to generalize hydrologic processes and the effects of land management practices on the water balance. Nevertheless, estimates of interception, infiltration, evapotranspiration, soil moisture storage, and hillslope soil erosion of these on-site hydrologic processes have been obtained in plot studies. Estimates of off-site streamflow volumes, sediment yields and transport, and quality of streamflow water are available from the results of watershed-level investigations. Estimates of these respective hydrologic processes are presented in this general technical report.

A Management-oriented Classification of Pinyon-Juniper Woodlands of the Great Basin

A Management-oriented Classification of Pinyon-Juniper Woodlands of the Great Basin

Author: Neil E. West

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951D02977841X

Category: Forest plants

Page: 42

View: 916

A hierarchical framework for the classification of Great Basin pinyon-juniper woodlands was based on a systematic sample of 426 stands from a random selection of 66 of the 110 mountain ranges in the region. That is, mountain ranges were randomly selected, but stands were systematically located on mountain ranges. The National Hierarchical Framework of Ecological Units (ECOMAP) was used for the highest levels of classification, subdividing the Great Basin into nine relatively environmentally homogeneous Sections. The remaining levels are vegetation-based, focusing on the relative composition and dominance of pinyon and juniper and the dominant shrub and perennial grass species present. This approach will allow managers to better relate the results of previous, as well as new studies and management experiences.

Wildflowers of Iowa Woodlands

Wildflowers of Iowa Woodlands

Author: Sylvan T. Runkel

Publisher: University of Iowa Press

ISBN: 9781587298844

Category: Nature

Page: 294

View: 781

This classic of midwestern natural history is back in print with a new format and new photographs. Originally published in 1979, Wildflowers of Iowa Woodlands introduced many naturalists to the beauty and diversity of the native plants of the wooded communities that once covered more than 6 million acres of the state. Now redesigned with updated names and all-new images, this reliable field companion will introduce woodland wildflowers to a new generation of outdoor enthusiasts in the Upper Midwest. The species accounts are accompanied by brilliant full-page color photographs by Larry Stone, Thomas Rosburg, and Carl Kurtz. In clear, straightforward, and accessible prose, authors Sylvan Runkel and Alvin Bull provide common, scientific, and family names; the Latin or Greek meaning of the scientific names; habitat and blooming times; and a complete description of plant, flower, and fruit. Particularly interesting is the information on the many ways in which Native Americans and early pioneers used these plants for everything from pain relief to insecticides to tonics. Iowa’s original savannas, woodlands, and forests were cleared with amazing thoroughness, yet enough beauty and diversity remain to give joy to hikers, birders, and mushroomers. Wildflowers of Iowa Woodlands will inspire both amateurs and professionals with the desire to learn more about the wonders of today’s woodlands.