Search Results for: Murder At Whitby Abbey

Murder at Whitby Abbey

Murder at Whitby Abbey

Author: Cassandra Clark

Publisher: Severn House Publishers

ISBN: 1780296215

Category:

Page: 240

View: 421

Dispatched to Whitby Abbey to barter for a Holy Relic, Hildegard of Meaux is plunged into a baffling murder investigation in this gripping medieval mystery.Late December, 1389. Ordered to undertake a gruelling three-day journey to bleak Whitby Abbey in the far north of England in a bid to purchase the Abbey's priceless Holy Relic - a lock of St Hild's hair, said to be 700 years old - Hildegard of Meaux and her three companion monks arrive to find the Abbey a decidedly unwelcoming place, a place of strange customs and practices very different to their modest lifestyle at Meaux. Nor, as Hildegard discovers, is she the only visitor intent on acquiring the Relic.Before the bidding war can begin, a body is discovered in the monastery's apple store shed, and once again Hildegard is plunged into a baffling murder investigation where nothing is as it first appears. Something is rotten in the heart of Whitby Abbey - and it's up to Hildegard to discover the truth.

Murder at Whitby Abbey

Murder at Whitby Abbey

Author: Cassandra Clark

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN: 9781448302369

Category: Fiction

Page: 245

View: 642

Despatched to Whitby Abbey to barter for a Holy Relic, Hildegard of Meaux is plunged into a baffling murder investigation in this gripping medieval mystery. Late December, 1389. Ordered to undertake a gruelling three-day journey to bleak Whitby Abbey in the far north of England in a bid to purchase the Abbey’s priceless Holy Relic – a lock of St Hild’s hair, said to be 700 years old – Hildegard of Meaux and her three companion monks arrive to find the Abbey a decidedly unwelcoming place, a place of strange customs and practices very different to their modest lifestyle at Meaux. Nor, as Hildegard discovers, is she the only visitor intent on acquiring the Relic. Before the bidding war can begin, a body is discovered in the monastery’s apple store shed, and once again Hildegard is plunged into a baffling murder investigation where nothing is as it first appears. Something is rotten in the heart of Whitby Abbey – and it’s up to Hildegard to discover the truth.

Dark Waters Rising

Dark Waters Rising

Author: Cassandra Clark

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN: 9781448306695

Category: Fiction

Page: 283

View: 397

A storm is coming . . . Can nun sleuth Hildegard solve the murder of a lay sister before the rising flood waters trap her with a cunning killer? Autumn, 1394. All is not well at Swyne Priory. Dissension has arisen amongst the nuns. The new novices whisper in corners, spreading malicious rumours and sharing dark secrets. The Prioress gives Hildegard an order: search out the cause of this unrest, and put a stop to it. But before Hildegard can investigate, she's forced to deal with a new problem: the arrival of a mysterious stranger in the middle of the night, claiming his life is in danger. Hildegard isn't sure whether to believe him, but when a body is discovered near the priory, she's soon plunged into a dark and dangerous puzzle where nothing is as it seems. All she knows for certain is that a storm is coming, threatening to cut the priory off from the outside world and trap them with a killer . . . Medieval mystery at its finest - and a great pick for readers who love sleuthing monks and nuns like Peter Tremayne's Sister Fidelma, Ellis Peters' Brother Cadfael and Cora Harrison's Reverend Mother.

Murder in the Monastery

Murder in the Monastery

Author: Lesley Cookman

Publisher: Accent Press Ltd

ISBN: 9781908917768

Category: Fiction

Page: 317

View: 161

'With fascinating characters and an intriguing plot, this is a real page turner' KATIE FFORDE praise for the series An addictive and unputdownable crime mystery novel perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Faith Martin, J.R. Ellis, LJ Ross, Miss Marple and Midsummer Murders! Lesley Cookman's bestselling series featuring amateur sleuth Libby Sarjeant is back for its eleventh instalment! A jewelled Anglo-Saxon reliquary has mysteriously appeared on a website, apparently containing a relic of St Eldreda herself. The nuns at St Eldreda's Abbey are understandably curious, and invite Libby Sarjeant to look into the matter in more depth. Fascinated by the story, Libby's friend Peter obtains permission to mount 'Murder In The Monastery', a play based on St Eldreda's story, excitingly set in the ruins of the original monastery. Unfortunately for Peter's plans, a real body is discovered, and Libby and her friend Fran find out that this is sadly not the first. Together, Libby and Fran dive into their investigations, to hopefully find the link between the relic, St Eldreda, and the pile of bodies. __________________________________________________ Praise for the bestselling series: 'Great characters , enthralling stories, would make a BRILLIANT T.V. series' ***** Amazon review 'Curl up with a cuppa for another fascinating mystery, Lesley has done it again! The stories all just pull you into them...hook line & sinker' ***** Amazon review 'I found the book un-put-downable (good job I was on holiday!) so it is definitely worth 5 stars. Waiting for more, Lesley!' ***** GoodReads review 'Excellent story as usual, love these books and looking forward to reading the next in the series' ***** Goodreads review

Death at the Seaside

Death at the Seaside

Author: Frances Brody

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN: 9781250098870

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 642

Frances Brody returns with an intricate, absorbing plot while capturing the atmosphere and language of 1920s England in the eighth book of her cozy mystery series. Nothing ever happens in August, and tenacious sleuth Kate Shackleton deserves a break. Heading off for a long-overdue holiday to Whitby, she visits her school friend Alma who works as a fortune teller there. Kate had been looking forward to a relaxing seaside sojourn, but upon arrival discovers that Alma's daughter Felicity has disappeared, leaving her mother a note and the pawn ticket for their only asset: a watch-guard. What makes this more intriguing is the jeweler who advanced Felicity the thirty shillings is Jack Phillips, Alma's current gentleman friend. Kate can't help but become involved, and goes to the jeweller's shop to get some answers. When she makes a horrifying discovery in the back room, it becomes clear that her services are needed. Met by a wall of silence by town officials, keen to maintain Whitby's idyllic façade, it's up to Kate - ably assisted by Jim Sykes and Mrs Sugden - to discover the truth behind Felicity's disappearance. And they say nothing happens in August...

Murders and Mysteries of the North York Moors

Murders and Mysteries of the North York Moors

Author: Peter Walker

Publisher: Pollinger in Print

ISBN: 9781905665419

Category: Fiction

Page: 281

View: 731

In this chilling investigation of foul deeds and mysterious deaths, former police inspector, Peter N Walker leads the reader through this native countryside in search of the truth behind many unexplained mysteries and unsolved murders. Isolated moorland inns and quiet dales conceal memorable tales of passion and despair from ancient times right up to the present day. This wide-ranging and breathtaking collection of murders and mysteries are intriguing and informative, whether you know the North York Moors or not.

The Holy Island of Lindisfarne

The Holy Island of Lindisfarne

Author: David Adam

Publisher: SPCK

ISBN: 9780281063079

Category: Religion

Page: 81

View: 630

David Adam has been captivated by the beauty, wonder and holiness of Lindisfarne since first glimpsing its fairytale castle from the train as a young boy. In this absorbing volume, he shows the island's human face, revealing how Lindisfarne and its people have responded to trial, tribulation and triumph in the course of a long and vibrant history. This tiny place witnessed one of the last stands of the 'British' Celtic peoples against the invading Anglo-Saxons in the sixth century. It has been the home of saints and scholars, most notably St Aidan and St Cuthbert, and famously produced the medieval masterpiece known as the Lindisfarne Gospels. Less familiar to readers, perhaps, will be that the island experienced the first recorded Viking invasion in 793, and was involved in the seventeenth century Civil War and the eighteenth century Jacobite Rebellion. Today its Priory and Castle draw pilgrims and visitors from all over the world.