Search Results for: For The Love Of Cities

Love & City Dreaming Poems by Margaret Havill Reid

Love & City Dreaming Poems by Margaret Havill Reid

Author: Margaret Havill Reid

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9780557157990

Category: Poetry

Page: 120

View: 501

Award-winning Poet of the Year, Margaret Havill "Mandi" Reid, is represented by a rich assortment of verse in "Love & City Dreaming." While the focus remains firmly on her love poetry and urban verses, this anthology also includes limericks and other humorous offerings, religious and political themes, philosophic conundrums and even some children's verse. In fact, unlike her previous collection, "Song of the Wayward Wind," care has been taken on this occasion to make all the contents of "Love & City Dreaming," including Mandi's own illustrations, suitable for all readers.

Love [Your City]

Love [Your City]

Author: Jacob Bloemberg

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 9781973683476

Category: Religion

Page: 228

View: 379

What if the church in your city becomes known for its love? God is on the move and doing a new thing around the globe. Citywide movements and global urban mission are two merging trends turning the church inside-out. In cities worldwide, the church is becoming known for its love, like Jesus said. How can you start such a movement in your city, town, or community? Most urban mission textbooks are written from and for a Western context, but this book is different! Jacob Bloemberg shares the story of Love Hanoi, a campaign-turned-movement that has been enjoying success since 2012 in the capital city of Vietnam. In this book, he provides the theological foundation of building the city and explains how urban mission concepts can be adapted for citywide movements in any cultural context. Love [Your City] also features practical tools and helpful tips for students, practitioners, and mission leaders so that they, too, can start transforming their cities and making the church known for its love!

We Love Manchester City

We Love Manchester City

Author: Rick Masterson

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781304972637

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page:

View: 449

We Love Manchester City, this book includes the funniest Laugh Out Loud songs, chants and jokes about football and our rivals. The perfect gift for Man City fans.

City of Love and Ashes

City of Love and Ashes

Author: Yusuf Idris

Publisher: American Univ in Cairo Press

ISBN: 9774246993

Category: Fiction

Page: 166

View: 130

Cairo, January 1952. Egypt is at a critical point in its modern history, struggling to throw off the yoke of the seventy-year British occupation and its corrupt royalist allies. Hamza is a committed young radical, his goal to build a secret armed brigade to fight for freedom, independence, and national self-esteem. Fawziya is a woman with a mission too, keen to support the cause. Among the ashes of the city love may grow, but at a time of national struggle what place do personal feelings have beside the greater love for a shackled homeland? In this finely crafted novel, Yusuf Idris, best known as the master of the Arabic short story, brings to life not only some of the most human characters in modern Arabic fiction but the soul of Cairo itself and the soul of a national consciousness focused on liberation. ''Like the Russian aristocrats of Chekhov, the provincial bourgeoisie of Flaubert, or the Ibo villagers of Achebe, Idris raises his authentic characters into convincing types within their context: he makes us live their agonies and hopes.''--Ferial Ghazoul

Love Builds the City

Love Builds the City

Author: Debra Harris

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 9781524502300

Category: Fiction

Page: 116

View: 494

Makenzie Johnson is a nurse practitioner who, after experiencing a life-changing event in her hometown of Seattle, moves to the small city of Jackson to make a fresh start. She accepts a position on the trauma unit at City Medical Center. There, she devotes herself to helping patients heal, but it isnt until she meets the newest member of the hospitals flight-care crew, former air force captain Tim Fisher, that she realizes that she is the one in need of healing. When the two join together with other members of their community to help rebuild a storm-ravaged city, Captain Fisher makes it his mission to repair Makenzies broken heart.

Love in a Fallen City

Love in a Fallen City

Author: Eileen Chang

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9780141930077

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 314

Eileen Chang is one of the great writers of twentieth-century China, where she enjoys a passionate following both on the mainland and in Taiwan. At the heart of Chang's achievement is her short fiction—tales of love, longing, and the shifting and endlessly treacherous shoals of family life. Written when she was still in her twenties, these extraordinary stories combine an unsettled, probing, utterly contemporary sensibility, keenly alert to sexual politics and psychological ambiguity, with an intense lyricism that echoes the classics of Chinese literature. Love in a Fallen City, the first collection in English of this dazzling body of work, introduces readers to the stark and glamorous vision of a modern master.

In the City of Love's Sleep

In the City of Love's Sleep

Author: Lavinia Greenlaw

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 9780571337644

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 220

This is a story about a woman and a man who meet by chance. Nothing of any importance is said, yet she suddenly turns away, leaves the room, and starts to run. She is in shock from what this man has brought back to life: an electrical affinity, a higher self, a feeling of having been woken, recognized, and desired. Iris, a museum conservator in her late forties, is in the midst of separating from her husband, with whom she has two daughters. Her house is falling down, money is tight, and her husband is unwell. The man she meets is Raif, a stalled academic whose wife has died and whose girlfriend is about to move in. He is not as mysterious as he appears. Iris and Raif have no say. For all we talk about love; name its parts; explain it to each other, it is something that just happens to us. We repeat steps laden with memory. In the City of Love's Sleep reveals love in all its inscrutable complexity: the raw nature of feeling and its uncontrollable, inconsistent, unsettling truths.

Love In Paris - Poetic Guide to the Romance of the City

Love In Paris - Poetic Guide to the Romance of the City

Author: Lepota Cosmo

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781329884656

Category: Travel

Page:

View: 189

A first quote book about Paris, literary and cultural pendant and great tour literature. Here for the first time do we have thoughts and impressions of intellectuals, and people, expressing their views about City of Love: Cezanne, Gertude Stein, Derrida, Elbaz, Picasso, Cocteau, Hemingway, Camus, Visconti, Flauber, Hugo, Duras, Fitzgerald, Ginsberg, Wilde, La Rochefoucauld, Twain, Gaultier. Paris seen from the eyes of lovers, strangers, Parisians, painters and poets, men and women of Fashion. Works encompass the most important books on Paris, A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway, Paris France by Gertrude Stein, Zone by Guillaume Apollinaire, Outside by Marguerite Duras, Innocents Abroad by Gertrude Stein, Paris by Edward Rutherfurd, etc. It shows good literal practise of Frenchman, through phrases, proverbs, and impressions.

Love in the City by the Sea

Love in the City by the Sea

Author: Lilac Mills

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788632720

Category: Fiction

Page: 305

View: 706

Sometimes crossing the finish line is only the first step Tess Barton is stuck in a rut. Her dream of becoming an artist has stalled as she works three jobs just trying to survive. She’s barely got time to sleep and now her sister, Emma, is signing her up for a marathon... But it’s not just any marathon. It’s the Barcelona marathon and they’d be running in memory of their late sister. When disaster strikes and Emma can’t make it, Tess finds herself facing a new city and daunting challenge all alone. That is, until an unexpected rendezvous in a little tapas bar with gorgeous local, Roberto. Soon Tess finds that the fast-paced city isn’t so intimidating – and the marathon not quite so terrifying – with someone by her side. As she races towards the finish line, Tess starts to realise all the things she’s been running away from. But is it too late for her to chase dreams after all this time heading in the wrong direction? Perfect for fans of T.A. Williams, Samantha Tonge and Sue Roberts. What readers are saying about Love in the City by the Sea: ‘A lovely relaxing story, with fabulous characters, lots of romance, a beautiful city, and a wonderful storyline. This is the perfect escapism read and beach read. Fab’ Reader review 'The book was so wonderful. Tess is a very relatable character... The books is beautifully written, nice and just wonderful. I would recommend it to everybody I know.' Unapologetic Geek ‘This was so beautifully written, so atmospheric that I felt like I was experiencing the sights, smells, delicious food and wine that Tess did.’ Reader Review 'A delightful few hours in Barcelona' Reader review 'This is a beautiful story to read. It was lovely to picture wonderful Barcelona. The descriptions of the city made me want to go back. This is a lovely romantic story set in wonderful surroundings. A pleasure to read' Reader review 'This is what the good memories are made of. Stars!... if you are looking for a few hours of escapism to a really great city with a romance playing out around its exploration then this is certainly a book to take a chance on.' Reader review 'This is my first time reading a novel by this author and I can 100% say that it won't be my last... a fantastic read that I couldn't put down. I'm now on the search for more novels by Lilac Mills! ' Reader review