Search Results for: Circles In The Sand

Circles in the Sand

Circles in the Sand

Author: Edna J. Whitehouse

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN: 9781412041904

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 350

View: 667

www.samadhiwhitehouse.writerswebpages.com From darkness into light... This frank memoir of incestuous love, coming out, "escape" to the Middle East, and spiritual growth will inspire those struggling toward their own healing truth. Veiled oppression of Arabian women was the crucial mirror needed to see her own reflection. Follow her search for what she thought was lost - her soul.

Circle in the Sand

Circle in the Sand

Author: Christian Alfonsi

Publisher: Doubleday Books

ISBN: UOM:39015066784144

Category: History

Page: 466

View: 400

Explains how decisions made during the first Bush White House at the time of Desert Storm and the first Gulf War, including that to leave Saddam Hussein in power, led to the current administration's decision to invade Iraq as part of the War on Terror. 35,000 first printing.

The Adventures of Carrie the Koala and Karl the Kangaroo

The Adventures of Carrie the Koala and Karl the Kangaroo

Author: Douglas Mendel

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781491718315

Category: Fiction

Page: 173

View: 603

The Adventures of Carrie the Koala and Karl the Kangaroo are about two Marsupials in Australia that take a bus ride from a city to the end of the line in The Outback for an amazing adventure of living, growing, learning and experiencing all that life has to offer beyond their wildest and crazy dreams. Karl's dream of learning to fly and surf definitely sets him apart from his other Kangaroo buddies as he explores the skies and oceans off the coast of Port Augusta, Australia. Carrie's dreams come to fruition as she learns that she doesn't have to fit the self-imposed confines of what a Koala has to live by. There is no other book that captures the imagination and soul of two Marsupials that start their adventure on the outskirts of a city, take a bus to the end of the line and start their incredible journey of self-discovery through dreams, sharing, living, growing and meeting other interesting animals and humans along their journey!

Emergence in Interactive Art

Emergence in Interactive Art

Author: Jennifer Seevinck

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9783319452012

Category: Computers

Page: 182

View: 852

This book is concerned with emergence, interaction, art and computing. It introduces a new focus for emergence in interactive art: the emergent experience. Emergence literature is discussed and an organising framework, the Taxonomy of Emergence in Interactive Art (TEIA) is provided together with case studies of digital, interactive art systems that facilitate emergence. Evidence from evaluations of people interacting with the works is analysed using the TEIA. Artworks from across the world are also reviewed to further illustrate the potential for emergence. Interactive art is, itself, still a young domain where audience influence, or interaction with the work is a defining aspect. Emergence in Interactive Art explores the rich opportunities for interactive experiences of digital art systems that are provided by looking through a ‘lens’ of emergence. And what better way to explore these potentials than through the open-ended domain of emergence, with its inherent affinity to the natural world? Through an integrated approach of practice, research and theory this book reveals design and analytical insights relating to emergence, interaction and interactive art to benefit artists, researchers and designers alike.

The Road to Strange

The Road to Strange

Author: Michael Brein

Publisher: Visionary Living, Inc.

ISBN: 9781942157267

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page:

View: 541

Take a trip straight into the heart of one of humanity’s biggest mysteries: the alien presence on Earth! Here are more than 40 true eyewitness accounts, many never-before published, that describe in detail personal encounters with alien beings and their craft. The stories come from all over the world and from witnesses in all walks of life – people just like you. Every story is analyzed by a commentary that explores our involvement with alien beings – and why. Read about: · Astonishing close encounters with craft that defy explanations · Astounding face-to-face experiences with aliens, including abductions · The hybrid human-alien presence on Earth · Men In Black, missing time, time slips and crop circles ThThe Road to Strange: UFOs, Aliens and High Strangeness is simply one of the best UFO books I’ve read in years… Michael Brein and Rosemary Ellen Guiley remain highly focused throughout on delivering readers into unvarnished, highly credible, firsthand witness and/or experiencer testimonies. Each one is followed by an appropriately thoughtful, insightful commentary, all of which reflect clear insights throughout.” – Peter Robbins, author and UFO researcher "All too often, UFO literature keeps the “experts” in control. Finally, here is a book that lets the witnesses describe their experiences, and more importantly, their feelings and how their lives were affected. This volume represents a promising new direction for paranormal study." – Greg Bishop, radio host and author, It Defies Language!

The Greatest Guide to Golf

The Greatest Guide to Golf

Author: John Cook

Publisher: Greatest Guides

ISBN: 9781907906015

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 162

View: 625

Golf tips and advice to help you ... * develop a great swing and drive with the confidence of the top players * achieve short, mid and long iron shot success even from the most testing of lies * pitch and chip your approach shots to within an inch of a hole *cope with the trials and tribulations of the bunker like the great Gary Player *develop that perfect putting stroke to secure that match-winning birdie Everyone who plays golf longs to improve their game. This book, written by renowned PGA coach, John Cook, is packed with great tips to help you do just that. His fabulous tips and tricks are from a lifetime of playing and coaching, making the book fun and informative. From solving the slice to perfecting the putt, this delightful addition to the golf bag has it all!

The Blue Road To Atlantis

The Blue Road To Atlantis

Author: Jay Nussbaum

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781446486573

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 544

View: 839

In the tradition of The Celestine Prophecy and Jonathan Livingston Seagull, THE BLUE ROAD TO ATLANTIS is an inspirational retelling of Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea. This is a gently humorous and ultimately touching story told from the perspective of a remora who is travelling with his mentor, a wise and beautiful marlin, to Atlantis in order to save the lives of all the fish in the ocean. En route to Atlantis, the marlin is hooked by a fisherman, who turns out to be Hemingway's character from The Old Man and the Sea. As the marlin struggles for survival, he ponders the meaning of life, the importance of love, friendship and forgiveness, the power of fear and the importance of following one's dreams at all costs. His thoughts encourage readers to 'go with the current' by accepting the ebb and flow of life and not fighting against our instinct and our intuition, but rather following the current of our heart and soul to happiness and contentment.

Stories from the Leopold Shack

Stories from the Leopold Shack

Author: Estella B. Leopold

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190463243

Category: Nature

Page: 256

View: 746

In 1934, conservationist Aldo Leopold and his wife Estella bought a barn - the remnant of a farm - and surrounding lands in south-central Wisconsin. The entire Leopold clan - five children in all - worked together to put into practice Aldo's "land ethic," which involved ecological restoration and sustainability. In the process, they built more than a pleasant weekend getaway; they established a new way of relating to nature. In 1948, A Sand County Almanac was published, and it has become a beloved and foundational text of the conservation movement. Decades later, Estella B. Leopold, the youngest of the Leopold children - she was eight when they bought the land - now reflects on the "Shack," as they called the repurposed barn, and its inhabitants, and recalls with clear-eyed fondness the part it played in her and her siblings' burgeoning awareness of nature's miracles, season by season. In Stories from the Leopold Shack: Sand County Revisited, she unforgettably recalls the intensity of those days: the taste of fresh honey on sourdough pancakes; the trumpeting arrival of migrating Canada geese; the awesome power of river ice driven by currents - and each description is accompanied by stunning photographs by her brother, A. Carl Leopold. As the Leopolds worked to restore degraded farmland back to its original prairie and woods, they noted and celebrated all of the flora and fauna that came to share the Shack lands. As first evoked in A Sand County Almanac, and now revisited in Stories from the Leopold Shack, the Leopold family's efforts of ecological restoration were among the earliest in the United States, and their work, collectively and individually, continues to have a profound impact on land management and conservationism. All of Aldo and Estella Leopold's children went on to become distinguished scientists and to devote themselves to a life of conservation; their work continues through the Aldo Leopold Foundation. Estella B. Leopold book offers a voyage back to the place where it all began.

The Okambara Ladies Sewing Circle

The Okambara Ladies Sewing Circle

Author: Allyson Shepard Bailey

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 9781291971194

Category: Travel

Page:

View: 170

This book lets us join the journey of five oddly assorted middle aged women as they prepare for and experience a wonderful adventure on a conservation project in Namibia. Learn more about the struggles of preparing to travel to Africa, coming to terms with driving Land Rovers, handling laser range finders and locating elephants, and all the excitement, learning and fun of joining a scientific expedition. If you're thinking of setting off on an adventure, this book should be both a guide and an encouragement. 50% of the sales will go to Biosphere, to help support their vital conservation work