Search Results for: Blue Road To Atlantis

The Blue Road To Atlantis

The Blue Road To Atlantis

Author: Jay Nussbaum

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781446486573

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 544

View: 817

In the tradition of The Celestine Prophecy and Jonathan Livingston Seagull, THE BLUE ROAD TO ATLANTIS is an inspirational retelling of Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea. This is a gently humorous and ultimately touching story told from the perspective of a remora who is travelling with his mentor, a wise and beautiful marlin, to Atlantis in order to save the lives of all the fish in the ocean. En route to Atlantis, the marlin is hooked by a fisherman, who turns out to be Hemingway's character from The Old Man and the Sea. As the marlin struggles for survival, he ponders the meaning of life, the importance of love, friendship and forgiveness, the power of fear and the importance of following one's dreams at all costs. His thoughts encourage readers to 'go with the current' by accepting the ebb and flow of life and not fighting against our instinct and our intuition, but rather following the current of our heart and soul to happiness and contentment.

Wonders of the Sea

Wonders of the Sea

Author: Kendall F. Haven

Publisher: Libraries Unlimited

ISBN: 1591582792

Category: Education

Page: 206

View: 942

Integrates various scientific fields of oceanic study--Physical Oceanography, Geologic Oceanography, Biological and Chemical Oceanography, etc.-- with the study of myth.

Virtuosa Organisation

Virtuosa Organisation

Author: Graham Williams

Publisher: eBook Partnership

ISBN: 9781869225254

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 333

View: 428

This is a book about people in organisations developing love for themselves, others, communities and nature. It offers an opportunity to see afresh, to envisage courageously and to position yourself differently. To bring hearts, minds and wills to bear on the world around us. The life we live inside our organisations influences every other part of our lives. Here is a way to embrace the philosophy and practice of becoming a virtuous organisation and giving a dazzling performance. The book helps you to define where you are in your current experience of your organisation, and how you can shift things within yourself and around you. This is more than an adaptive or compliance process. It is about necessary, compelling and radical change and the authors show how it can, and has been done: Seeing the need. Arriving at the right values. Aligning individual and organisation values Determining appropriate behaviour indicators. Entrenching the values so that they become spontaneously lived virtuesThe mind-set, methods and techniques used during the process are important in each of these steps, especially the last where precious few have succeeded. Virtues drawn from the life and works of Leonardo da Vinci, and which span all cultures and generations, illustrate what is possible.The book includes:1. Choosing and prioritising values2. How are you living your personal values3. Are we a congruent organisation?4. Using anecdote circles to find out what shape your business is in5. Personal mindfulness checklist6. Do we have organisational blind-spots?7. Journaling8. What shadow-side factors should we be aware of in our organisation? 9. How integrated are we as an organisation?10. The seeds of love11. Ethical behaviour12. Putting balance into the balance scorecard13. Readiness for the journey

Letting Go Of The Person You Used To Be

Letting Go Of The Person You Used To Be

Author: Lama Surya Das

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781407095493

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 214

View: 982

Full of personal stories, anecdotes, practical exercises, guided meditations and reflections, LETTING GO OF THE PERSON YOU USED TO BE addresses life's most universal difficulties in a way that is accessible to all. 'My life has been changed for the better by reading this' -- ***** Reader review 'Wonderful' -- ***** Reader review 'Inspirational' -- ***** Reader review 'This book is amazing and will change your life' -- ***** Reader review ************************************************************************************************************ Lamya Surya Das, American Lama and spiritual leader, whose inimitable light and lively universal teaching style has awakened the spirituality of thousands, now shares an enlightened approach to change and loss, dealing with difficult emotions such as fear, grief, and anger, and the role of crisis in uncovering our authentic selves. For many people, recent years have been characterized by profound change, whether it relates to financial upheaval, political shifts, or even massive losses of life to disease and violence. Even on the personal level each person must confront the curves life throws his or her way. Buddhism has a great deal to say about change and impermanence and how to meaningfully deal with it. In fact, change - whether on a large or small scale - provides our most important opportunity for learning about ourselves and the nature of reality. From this essential insight Lama Surya Das has crafted a fulfilling and important path to understanding and healing ourselves and finding peace.

The Celestine Prophecy

The Celestine Prophecy

Author: James Redfield

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781448126453

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 336

View: 742

This extremely readable and addictive parable has become a breakout word-of-mouth hit for its uncanny ability to renew your understanding of life, connections and perspective with fresh vigour. From the multimillion-bestselling author, James Redfield, and perfect for fans of Paulo Coelho and Eckhart Tolle. 'The Celestine Prophecy has already reached cult status... It homes in on the deepest, most urgent search of our times - the search for meaning... This is a book like no other.' - THE TELEGRAPH 'If you've ever wondered what the formula is for an "inspirational" bestseller, with promising potential for cult status, look no further' ? GUARDIAN 'A spiritual classic... A book to read and reread, to cherish, and to give to friends' - JOAN BORYSENKO, author of Fire in the Soul ******************************************************************************* You have never read a book like this before... The Celestine Prophecy contains secrets that are currently changing our world. Drawing on the ancient wisdom found in a Peruvian manuscript, it tells you how to make connections between the events happening in your own life right now...and lets you see what is going to happen to you in the years to come. The story it tells is a gripping one of adventure and discovery, but it is also a guidebook that has the power to crystalize your perceptions of why you are where you are in life...and to direct your steps with a new energy and optimism as you head into tomorrow. A book that comes along just once in a lifetime to change lives forever.

Literature of Travel and Exploration

Literature of Travel and Exploration

Author: Jennifer Speake

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781135456634

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 2100

View: 867

Containing more than 600 entries, this valuable resource presents all aspects of travel writing. There are entries on places and routes (Afghanistan, Black Sea, Egypt, Gobi Desert, Hawaii, Himalayas, Italy, Northwest Passage, Samarkand, Silk Route, Timbuktu), writers (Isabella Bird, Ibn Battuta, Bruce Chatwin, Gustave Flaubert, Mary Kingsley, Walter Ralegh, Wilfrid Thesiger), methods of transport and types of journey (balloon, camel, grand tour, hunting and big game expeditions, pilgrimage, space travel and exploration), genres (buccaneer narratives, guidebooks, New World chronicles, postcards), companies and societies (East India Company, Royal Geographical Society, Society of Dilettanti), and issues and themes (censorship, exile, orientalism, and tourism). For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia website.

Literature of Travel and Exploration: G to P

Literature of Travel and Exploration: G to P

Author: Jennifer Speake

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 1579584241

Category: Travel writing

Page: 542

View: 731

Containing more than 600 entries, this valuable resource presents all aspects of travel writing. There are entries on places and routes (Afghanistan, Black Sea, Egypt, Gobi Desert, Hawaii, Himalayas, Italy, Northwest Passage, Samarkand, Silk Route, Timbuktu), writers (Isabella Bird, Ibn Battuta, Bruce Chatwin, Gustave Flaubert, Mary Kingsley, Walter Ralegh, Wilfrid Thesiger), methods of transport and types of journey (balloon, camel, grand tour, hunting and big game expeditions, pilgrimage, space travel and exploration), genres (buccaneer narratives, guidebooks, New World chronicles, postcards), companies and societies (East India Company, Royal Geographical Society, Society of Dilettanti), and issues and themes (censorship, exile, orientalism, and tourism). For a full list of entries and contributors, a generous selection of sample entries, and more, visit the Literature of Travel and Exploration: An Encyclopedia website.

A Monk Jumped Over a Wall

A Monk Jumped Over a Wall

Author: Jay Nussbaum

Publisher:

ISBN: 1592642012

Category: Fiction

Page: 364

View: 517

J. J. Spencer is one of the many hungry young lawyers eager to climb the corporate ladder to the great future awaiting him. With his first annual review approaching, J. J. is confident his keen work for the top Manhattan law firm he is employed by will be praised all the way to the bank. Until, that is, he gives in to a sudden surge of compassion during a chance encounter at a diner. J. J. discovers how swiftly no good deed goes unpunished: the consequences of his generous impulse snowball and before he knows it, J. J. Spencer has been beaten bloody, arrested for drunk driving, and fired from his job. His perfect life seemingly over, J. J. decides he must dedicate himself to helping the very people who unwittingly lost him everything. It is through that journey - and the surprising battles contained therein - that a new life is allowed to rise from the ashes of the old, and J. J. emerges as the man he always should have been.

Blue Road to Atlantis

Blue Road to Atlantis

Author: Jay Nussbaum

Publisher: Grand Central Pub

ISBN: 0446528218

Category: Fiction

Page: 139

View: 271

An inspirational retelling of Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea finds the remora Fishmael traveling with his marlin mentor, known as the "Old Fish," in his quest for a higher vision and a more fulfilling life. 35,000 first printing.