Search Results for: An Enquiring Mind

The Relevance of Critical Citizenship Education in an African Context

The Relevance of Critical Citizenship Education in an African Context

Author: Elmarie Costandius

Publisher: AFRICAN SUN MeDIA

ISBN: 9781928314073

Category: Education

Page: 157

View: 510

Critical citizenship is a multi-faceted, contemporary social, political and educational issue being discussed from a wide range of disciplines and points of view. Unusually, this collection brings together scholars in the fields of theology, art and design to ponder various levels and forms of education, including early childhood interventions, the rehabilitation of young offenders, and the impact of homosexuality in Malawi on citizenship and the links with theological teachings. The common ground that brought participants together was a mutual, collaborative search for the relevance for the African context of the notion of citizenship education, be it ‘critical’, ‘democratic’, ‘responsible’, ‘active’ or preferably all of these forms or aspects of citizenship brought together.

My Life As a Traitor

My Life As a Traitor

Author: Zarah Ghahramani

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9780747593386

Category: Iran

Page: 257

View: 724

It was part youthful zeal and part teen crush that led Zarah Ghahramani to join a student protest movement. But dabbling in student politics was to lead to disaster when one day she was bundled into a car and taken to Tehran's most notorious prison: Evin. Far from her comfortable middle-class home, Zarah had to find refuge from her ruthless interrogators in a windowless concrete cell. Day after day she was humiliated and viciously beaten until all she wanted was simply to die, her spirit broken. In My Life as a Traitor, Zarah tells the story of her horrifying ordeal and her eventual release, and describes the ways it changed the naïve nineteen-year-old she once was into a woman of courage and determination.

Physics for the Inquiring Mind

Physics for the Inquiring Mind

Author: Eric M. Rogers

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 9780691151151

Category: Science

Page: 791

View: 231

In our scientific age an understanding of physics is part of a liberal education. Lawyers, bankers, governors, business heads, administrators, all wise educated people need a lasting understanding of physics so that they can enjoy those contacts with science and scientists that are part of our civilization both materially and intellectually. They need knowledge and understanding instead of the feelings, all too common, that physics is dark and mysterious and that physicists are a strange people with incomprehensible interests. Such a sense of understanding science and scientists can be gained neither from sermons on the beauty of science nor from the rigorous courses that colleges have offered for generations; when the headache clears away it leaves little but a confused sense of mystery. Nor is the need met by survey courses that offer a smorgasbord of tidbit--they give science a bad name as a compendium of information or formulas. The non-scientist needs a course of study that enables him to learn real science and make its own--with delight. For lasting benefits the intelligent non-scientist needs a course of study that enables him to learn genuine science carefully and then encourages him to think about it and use it. He needs a carefully selected framework of topics--not so many that learning becomes superficial and hurried; not so few that he misses the connected nature of scientific work and thinking. He must see how scientific knowledge is built up by building some scientific knowledge of his own, by reading and discussing and if possible by doing experiments himself. He must think his own way through some scientific arguments. He must form his own opinion, with guidance, concerning the parts played by experiment and theory; and he must be shown how to develop a taste for good theory. He must see several varieties of scientific method at work. And above all, he must think about science for himself and enjoy that. These are the things that this book encourages readers to gain, by their own study and thinking. Physics for the Inquiring Mind is a book for the inquiring mind of students in college and for other readers who want to grow in scientific wisdom, who want to know what physics really is.

I Stole My Genius Sister's Brain

I Stole My Genius Sister's Brain

Author: Jo Simmons

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781526618559

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 257

View: 400

Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons, this is a new hilarious adventure from the creative team behind the bestselling I Swapped My Brother On The Internet. Keith has entered the Junior Mega Brain quiz and he's determined to win. The problem is – he's not really a genius. Even worse, his sister Minerva actually is, and Keith will have to go head to head against her. Keith needs to get super smart and fast! Could he just steal Min's brain? Or will some awesome inventions, sneezing rabbits and fearsome flapjacks be the genius way to victory?

The Best of Inquiring Mind

The Best of Inquiring Mind

Author: Barbara Gates

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9780861715510

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 362

View: 194

Inquiring Mind has been a pathblazer at the forefront of Buddhism in the West Rich in insight, humor, and world-renowned expertise, The Best of Inquiring Mind is an unprecedented gathering of wisdom from the minds of some of the most influential thinkers in the realm of modern Dharma. Book jacket.

Too Young To Get Old

Too Young To Get Old

Author: Christine Webber

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780748118694

Category: Self-Help

Page: 320

View: 613

TOO YOUNG TO GET OLD is a celebratory and informative book for the female 50 plus reader who wants to enjoy life to the full and face the passing years with style. Lively, positive and insightful, mixed with a little self help, a little nostalgia and an underpinning of psychology, Christine Webber's chapters include 'Let's Keep Rocking and Rolling', 'Too Young to Retire', 'Money, Money, Money', 'Feeling Absolutely Fabulous', 'All in the Mind', 'Live Long and Prosper', 'If You've Got It, Flaunt It', 'Because We're Worth It', 'Endless Love', 'With a Little Help from My Friends', 'No Place Like Home' and 'The Time Of Our Lives'. She explores how babyboomers are reinventing retirement and goes on to address head on topics such as sex and relationships, the importance of friendships, where to live, money, keeping the brain alert, health and anti-ageing claims. Here is a lively, honest, entertaining and informed guide to the most important information you need to know on how to live as well and as healthily as you can for as long as you can - and enjoy every minute of it!

Proceedings of the 1988 Academy of Marketing Science (AMS) Annual Conference

Proceedings of the 1988 Academy of Marketing Science (AMS) Annual Conference

Author: Kenneth D. Bahn

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9783319170466

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 532

View: 570

This volume includes the full proceedings from the 1988 Academy of Marketing Science (AMS) Annual Conference held in Montreal, Canada. It provides a variety of quality research in the fields of marketing theory and practice in areas such as consumer behaviour, marketing management, marketing education, and international marketing, among others. Founded in 1971, the Academy of Marketing Science is an international organization dedicated to promoting timely explorations of phenomena related to the science of marketing in theory, research, and practice. Among its services to members and the community at large, the Academy offers conferences, congresses and symposia that attract delegates from around the world. Presentations from these events are published in this Proceedings series, which offers a comprehensive archive of volumes reflecting the evolution of the field. Volumes deliver cutting-edge research and insights, complimenting the Academy’s flagship journals, the Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science (JAMS) and AMS Review. Volumes are edited by leading scholars and practitioners across a wide range of subject areas in marketing science.

The Inquiring Mind

The Inquiring Mind

Author: Jason Baehr

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 9780199604074

Category: Philosophy

Page: 250

View: 470

Jason Baehr presents a new theory of 'responsibilist' or character-based virtue-epistemology -- an approach in which intellectual character traits are given a central and fundamental role. He examines the nature and structure of an intellectual virtue and accounts for the role of reflection on intellectual virtues in epistemology.

Astronomy for the Inquiring Mind

Astronomy for the Inquiring Mind

Author: Eric M. Rogers

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 9781400885992

Category: Science

Page: 176

View: 596

This selection from the author's famous Physics for the Inquiring Mind is a book for readers who want to grow in scientific wisdom, who want to know the fundamentals of the history and theory of basic astronomy. Originally published in 1982. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.